From Hunters and Jumpers... to Dressage and Polo
Equestrian Marketing, Public Relations and Event Management

Facebook   Twitter   Pinterist
Equestrian Photography
Join our Mailing List
Powered by ConstantContact

Phelps Media Group is a public relations and marketing firm dedicated to the promotion and success of the equestrian industry.

Press Release


Hayley Barnhill

Megan Macpherson

Alexa Anthony

Kylee Arbuckle

Click on the above photos for details and a high resolution version.

Photographs may be used free of charge only in relation to the PMG press releases they pertain to.

Hayley Barnhill, Megan Macpherson, Alexa Anthony, and Kylee Arbuckle Top 2010 ASPCA Maclay Regional Championships

Written by: Lauren Fisher
Client: National Horse Show
Release Date: 2010-09-24

Wellington, FL -September 24, 2010 – The 2010 ASPCA Maclay Regional Championships continued this weekend with the competitions for Regions 5, 6, 7, and 8, all held throughout the country on September 18, 2010. Championship honors were awarded to Hayley Barnhill, Megan Macpherson, Alexa Anthony, and Kylee Arbuckle for their top rides in their respective regional competitions.

Competing at the St. Louis National Charity Horse Show in Lake St. Louis, MO, the Region 5 “Central” Championships were judged by Russell Frey & Lynn Forgione. Top honors were awarded to Hayley Barnhill of Collierville, TN, with Caitlin Ziegler of Milwaukee, WI, in reserve. The Central Region includes AR, IA, KS, LA, MO, MN, ND, NE, OK, SD, TX, and WI.

The Region 6 “Mountain” Championships were held at the High Prairie Fall Classic in Parker, CO, including the states of AZ, CO, NM, and UT. Judged by Diann Langer & Bucky Reynolds, the regional championship was awarded to Megan Macpherson of Boulder, CO, with Leighona Bernstein of Golden, CO, in reserve.

Region 7 “Northwest” held its championships at the North West Autumn Classic in Monroe, WA, with judges William Maroney & Chrystine Tauber. Comprised of riders from AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, and WY, the Region 7 champion was Alexa Anthony of Redmond, WA, followed by Madison Cameron of Portland, OR, in reserve.

Concluding the weekend’s regional competitions, the Region 8 “West” Championships were held at the Oaks Blenheim Fall Classic in San Juan Capistrano, CA. Competing against the top junior riders from CA, HI, and NV, rider Kylee Arbuckle of Torrance, CA, triumphed over Audrey Coulter of San Francisco, CA, in reserve. Region 8 judges included Kip Rosenthal and John Roper.

The ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship class has been held since 1933, and it is one of the most prestigious competitions for junior riders in the United States. From each Regional Final a percentage of all winners will advance to the year-end National Championships. Its winners are some of the biggest names in equestrian sport. Previous winners include: William Steinkraus in 1941, Frank Chapot (1948), George Morris (1952), Leslie Burr Howard (1972), Stacia Klein Madden in 1987, and Nicole Shahinian Simpson in 1992. The 2008 ASPCA Maclay National Championship winner was Jessica Springsteen of Colts Neck, NJ, and in 2009 Zazou Hoffman, of Santa Monica, CA, was named the winner.

The Regional Championships for Region 2 will be held on September 25th in North Salem, NY, and the championships for Regions 1 and 4 will conclude on September 26th in Westbrook, CT, and Wayne, IL, respectively. The 2010 ASPCA Maclay National Championship will be held on November 7th at the Syracuse Invitational Sporthorse Tournament featuring the 127th National Horse Show. For more information, please visit or

Photo Credit: Hayley Barnhill won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 5 “Central” Championship. Photo © 2010 CJM Photo. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Photo Credit: Megan Macpherson won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 6 “Mountain” Championship. Photo © 2010 Horse and Ryder Photography. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Photo Credit: Alexa Anthony won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 7 “Northwest” Championship. Photo © 2010 Jay Goss Photography. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Photo Credit: Kylee Arbuckle won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 8 “West” Championship. Photo © 2010 Katie Neglia. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

1 Harley, Barnhill, Collierville, TN
2 Caitlin Ziegler, Milwaukee, WI
3 Laura Pfeiffer, Temperance, MI
4 Kalvin Dobbs, Carmel, IN
5 Katherine Woodruff, Hallsville, MO
6 Sarah Milliren, Sapulpa, OK
7 Hallie Miller, St. Louis, MO
8 Savannah Talcott, Grover, MO
9 Laura Baginski, Ballwin, MO
10 Elizabeth MacWilliam, Cazenovia, NY

REGION 6 “Mountain” TOP 10 RESULTS
1 Megan Macpherson, Boulder, CO
2 Leighona Bernstein, Golden, CO
3 Brooke Kennedy, Littleton, CO
4 Rachel Rohweder, Littleton, CO
5 Kelli Cruciotti, Elizabeth, CO
6 Brooke Pettet, Littleton, CO
7 Julie Gravelle, South Jordan, UT
8 Olivia Chowdry, Golden, CO
9 Claire Burchenali, Golden, CO
10 Sophie Onody, Aurora, CO

REGION 7 “Northwest” TOP 10 RESULTS
1 Alexa Anthony, Redmond, WA
2 Madison Cameron, Portland, OR
3 Jocelyn Evans, Kirkland, WA
4 Wendy Collins, Seattle, WA
5 Colleen Biemer, Portland, OR
6 Ruth Lind, Wilsonville, OR
7 Alexa Allen, Woodinville, WA
8 Rebecca Sexton, Redmond, WA
9 Maggie Dennis, Seattle, WA
10 Hannah Thornton, Bellevue, WA

1 Kylee Arbuckle, Torrance, CA
2 Audrey Coulter, San Francisco, CA
3 Clementine Yost, Carmel Valley, CA
4 Morgan Geller, Manhattan Beach, CA
5 Teodore Boris, Los Angeles, CA
6 Sydney Callaway, San Diego, CA
7 Samantha Harrison, La Canada Flintridge, CA 91011
8 Gabbi Langston, Irvine, CA
9 Holly Dickison, Westlake Village,CA
10 Alicia Gasser, Scottsdale, AZ


Home | What We Do | Our Clients | Releases | Meet the PMG Staff | Contact Us
Photo Gallery | Featured Articles | RSS |

© 2020 Phelps Media Group, Inc.
12012 South Shore Blvd., Suite 201, Wellington, FL 33414

All photography may only be used in conjunction with a related press release.

We do not sell our email lists or share our lists with other companies or individuals.