From Hunters and Jumpers... to Dressage and Polo
Equestrian Marketing, Public Relations and Event Management

Facebook   Twitter   Pinterist
Equestrian Photography
Join our Mailing List
Powered by ConstantContact

Phelps Media Group is a public relations and marketing firm dedicated to the promotion and success of the equestrian industry.

Press Release


Samantha Smith Region 1 Photo by Anne Gittens

Amber Henter Region 2 Photo by Richard Killian

Shawn Casady Region 4 Photo by Shawn McMillen

NHS/Syracuse Logo

Click on the above photos for details and a high resolution version.

Photographs may be used free of charge only in relation to the PMG press releases they pertain to.

Samantha Smith, Amber Henter, and Shawn Casady Top 2010 ASPCA Maclay Regional Championships

Written by: Lauren Fisher
Client: National Horse Show
Release Date: 2010-09-29

Wellington, FL -September 29, 2010 – The 2010 ASPCA Maclay Regional Championships concluded this weekend with the final competitions held in Regions 1, 2, and 4. Championship honors were awarded to Samantha Smith, Amber Henter, and Shawn Casady for their fantastic rides in each of their respective regions.

Region 1 awarded top honors to Samantha Smith of Wakefield, RI, after the rider showed against the top juniors in the Northeast states of CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, and VT. Competing at the Grand Fall Classic in Westbrook, CT on Saturday, September 25, Region 1 was judged by Brian Lenehan and Ralph Caristo. Charlotte Jacobs of East Aurora, NY finished in reserve.

Regions 2 and 4 each held their championships on Sunday, September 26. Region 2 East was held for the states of NJ, NY, and PA at Old Salem Farm in North Salem, NY. Judged by Leo Conroy and Mark Jungherr, top honors were awarded to Amber Henter of St. Petersburg, FL, with Sylvia DeToledo of New York, NY in reserve.

Region 4 concluded the regional competitions in the Midwest at the Kentucky National Horse Show in Wayne, IL. Hosting the top junior riders from the states of IL, IN, KY, MI, and OH, the competition presented the championship award to Shawn Casady of Harrimon, IL. Samantha Oliva of Kildeer, IL finished in reserve. Region 4 judges included Susie Schoellkopf and Scott Williamson.

The ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship class has been held since 1933, and it is one of the most prestigious competitions for junior riders in the United States. From each Regional Final a percentage of all winners will advance to the year-end National Championships. Its winners are some of the biggest names in equestrian sport. Previous winners include: William Steinkraus in 1941, Frank Chapot (1948), George Morris (1952), Leslie Burr Howard (1972), Stacia Klein Madden in 1987, and Nicole Shahinian Simpson in 1992. The 2008 ASPCA Maclay National Championship winner was Jessica Springsteen of Colts Neck, NJ, and in 2009 Zazou Hoffman, of Santa Monica, CA, was named the winner.

The 2010 ASPCA Maclay National Championship will be held on November 7th at the Syracuse Invitational Sporthorse Tournament featuring the 127th National Horse Show. For more information, please visit or

Photo Credit: Samantha Smith won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 1 “Northeast” Championship. Photo © 2010 Ann Gittins. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Photo Credit: Amber Henter won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 2 “East” Championship. Photo © 2010 Richard Killian Photography. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Photo Credit: Shawn Casady won the 2010 ASPCA Maclay Region 4 “Midwest” Championship. Photo © 2010 Shawn McMillen. Photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.

Maclay Regional Results 2010
Northeast, Region 1
1. Samantha Smith, Wakefield, RI
2. Charlotte Jacobs, East Aurora, NY
3. Emma Schauder, Greenwich, CT
4. Ryan Sassmannshausen, St. Charles, IL
5. Molly Osier, Marion, MA
6. Caroline Renker, North Hampton, NH
7. Devon Wood, Dover, NH
8. Britta Carlson, Redding, CT
9. Emily D’Allessandro, Redding, CT
10. Sydney Smith, Madison, CT

East, Region 2
1. Amber Henter, St. Petersburg, FL
2. Sylvia DeToledo, New York, NY
3. Elizabeth Benson, Whitehouse Station, NJ
4. Katherine Schmidt, Ridgefield, CT
5. Katie Dinan, New York, NY
6. Karen Polle, New York, NY
7. Lillie Keenan, New York, NY
8. Christina Gellos, Rivera Beach, FL
9. Schaefer Raposa, Wellington, FL
10. Kelsey Hart, East Greenbush, NY

Midwest, Region 4
1. Shawn Casady, Harrimon, TN
2. Samantha Oliva, Kildeer, IL
3. Paulena Johnson, Wellington, FL
4. Emily Van Der Walde, Ann Arbor, MI
5. Alyssa Mansfield, Wellington, FL
6. Haley Buchmiller, Bartlett, IL
7. Caitlyn Boyle, Hampshire, IL
8. Kelsey Thatcher, Bluffdale, UT
9. Catherine Hanlon, Chicago, IL
10. Leylan Gleeson, Moreland Hills, OH


Home | What We Do | Our Clients | Releases | Meet the PMG Staff | Contact Us
Photo Gallery | Featured Articles | RSS |

© 2020 Phelps Media Group, Inc.
12012 South Shore Blvd., Suite 201, Wellington, FL 33414

All photography may only be used in conjunction with a related press release.

We do not sell our email lists or share our lists with other companies or individuals.